Rennet: Good News for Vegetarians (Sometimes)

You can’t make cheese without rennet, because it is essential for separating the curds from the whey. For vegetarians, that begs the question: ‘Can I eat your cheese?’ Find out why, when it comes to our products, the answer is ‘yes!’

Details

The Facts About Lactose Intolerance

We are sometimes asked if people suffering from lactose intolerance can eat cheese without any ill effects. The good news is that cheese contains very little lactose, as it is drained off with the whey during production.

Details

The First Cut is the Sweetest: Opening Time on the Counter

The 4 kilo wheel of Ashmore Farmhouse is on the cutting board and I’m holding the cheese wire above it. It’s 7.30am on a Wednesday, the first day of my working week at The Goods Shed, Canterbury, and there is a new cheese to open. It’s from a new batch and I have no idea how…

Details

The History of Ashmore Cheese

What are the origins of Ashmore? In his book on West Country cheesemakers, first published in 2006 shortly before Jane Bowyer took over the business, food writer Michael Raffael tells the story of our much-prized cheese.

Details

What To Do With Whey?

The biggest by-product in cheesemaking is being used around the world in innovative ways – from powering buses and fuelling bodybuilders to helping make that favourite Christmas tipple, Irish coffee cream liqueur.

Details

Which Wine With Which Cheese?

Don’t waste too much time agonising over what should go with what. If you like it, have it! But there are a few guidelines that will help make the match more mouthwatering. In brief: Red wines go best with harder cheeses and milder flavours. White wines go better with softer cheeses and stronger flavours. Fruity and…

Details